Five Town Officials Sworn In At Inaugural Ceremony


North Hempstead Town Supervisor Judi Bosworth was sworn in for her second two-year term as supervisor, along with Receiver of Taxes Charles Berman, reelected Council Members Peter Zuckerman (District 2), Anna Kaplan (District 4) and Dina De Giorgio (District 6) at Clinton G. Martin Park on Jan. 3.

Following the oath of office ceremony administered by New York State Comptroller Tom DiNapoli, Supervisor Bosworth addressed the crowd. She echoed the sentiments of United States Senator Charles Schumer, who opened the program by celebrating the merits of the democratic process.

“Today we affirm once again that democracy works, government matters, public service is an honorable calling, and serving one’s community as an elected or appointed official is an honor, a privilege and a trust,” Bosworth said.

She also went on to detail some of her fulfilled promises from her first inaugural address in 2014, including strengthening town finances and improving government transparency, and discussed some plans for the future, including appointing a North Hempstead Parking Advisory Committee and
a Friends of North Hempstead Parks organization to support needed improvements in town parks.

Berman was sworn in by former Town Supervisor Jon Kaiman to begin his second four-year term. During his address, Berman said, “It is my great honor to serve North Hempstead as receiver of taxes and I thank you all for the opportunity and for the trust you have placed in me. I have really focused on improving convenience and customer service for our residents and I will continue to do so.”

The town council members were also sworn into office for four-year terms.

Zuckerman officially began his first full term, after first winning a special election in November 2014. The former Village of East Hills trustee was sworn in by Village Mayor Michael Koblenz.

Zuckerman said, “I am so honored the voters reelected me to serve four more years. I will continue to use my experience as a town councilman, village trustee and community leader to be an effective advocate for maintaining our quality of life, holding down the cost of town government, and helping to ensure the safety and security of our neighborhoods.”

Kaplan was sworn in by U.S. Congressman Steve Israel. Kaplan was first elected in 2011, becoming the first Iranian-American elected to municipal office in NY State.

“As a former political refugee and an immigrant myself, I will continue to speak for and listen to all the groups in District 4. Every resident matters and everybody’s voice needs to be heard,” Kaplan said during her speech. “The Town of North Hempstead is a town for all and I pledge to all of you that I will do all I can to serve as one who unites and builds a bridge between all of the town’s residents.”

Interestingly, on Monday, Jan. 11, Kaplan became the first Democrat to officially announce her candidacy for the Third District seat of Democratic Rep. Israel, who disclosed last week that he will not seek reelection.

De Giorgio began her second term after first being elected in 2011. New York State Senator Jack Martins administered the oath of office to De Giorgio, who said of her plans for her second term, “I will continue to work my hardest to be the kind of public servant that every voter can rely upon and be proud of.”


Previous articleValentines For Vets
Next articleSurgery Program A ‘Center of Excellence’
Joe Scotchie is the editor of both The Roslyn News and New Hyde Park Illustrated News. In 2009, he won a New York State Press Association award for a sports feature. Joseph Scotchie’s past publications include biographies of Thomas Wolfe and Richard Weaver and a comprehensive history of the city of Asheville, North Carolina.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here